Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djsound

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 4, 2006
Hi there. I'd love advice from the people that know Macs best. You. With so many products these days its a bit tricky to even figure out what to get.....so here I go....I am a graphic arts designer/music producer so I need a very powerful machine with a awesome display.....I am right now leaning towards a top of the line 27" imac......but they're expensive and id love a larger screen. I currently have a macbook pro that was attached to a 49" samsung curved display before but......the display actually sucked. The resolution was WAY to low for my liking. It needs to be similar to "retina".......49" wide is perfect for my uses so maybe there is a newer one with a higher resolution? (dell or another company maybe?)

I really like the ssd drive in my laptop.....Ive seen people say that mac minis are good maybe with external display? Would that be an option or are they not powerful enough?.......Imac pro is cool but......out of my price range for that size of display.....

Any help would be greatly appreciated! =)

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
I'd say either go with the 27" iMac or wait if you can. The Mac mini would come with a lot of drawbacks for your workload, like lacking a GPU, and dGPUs have their own bag of hurt, even though they're really cool for what they are.

The 27" display in the iMacs is really quite brilliant, so even if it's to you a bit on the small side, I don't think you'll be disappointed. Considering 5K is required to achieve "retina" on just 27" you'd also struggle finding a "retina"-quality display panel any larger without paying more than the price of the full iMac just for the display panel.

Reactions: hobowankenobi

djsound

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 4, 2006