Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nmaxcom

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 28, 2014
Hi there!

I'm using 10.12.6, Sierra. I have been since I bought my MBP (MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017)) and I've never updated because I didn't see the point.

However, more and more apps do not support 10.12 so I'm thinking of updating to 10.14 Mojave (I'd rather wait and see how Catalina fairs among users, potential yet hidden bugs...)

Here's my fear though: Apple has the tendency of adding bloatware like iTunes and other apps I don't want or use and also introduce potentially breaking changes.

I'm a programmer and a designer, and I have a huge amount of apps, from big apps like Adobe's and Jetbrains' to dozens of little everyday nifty utilities. I am afraid of having to waste hours reinstalling some of them or maybe even not being able to use a particular tool because the upgrade introduced breaking changes. A friend of mine had issues with already installed apps when upgrading and I don't want to be stranded: this laptop is my everyday workstation.

So, was my friend unlucky or it's not uncommon to have breaking changes that need attention? Can I potentially put myself into more trouble than what is worth?

Last edited:

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Clone your disk to an external drive. Then boot from that.

Apply the update to the external drive, where you can then test drive it, test apps, etc.

If at any time you decide you don't like something, simply reboot to the internal drive, and erase the external one.

In short, make a complete backup, then upgrade the backup to evaluate.

And there's a High Sierra release between Sierra and Mojave, which you may find preferable.

Last edited:

staggerlee41

macrumors 65816
Sep 25, 2017
Pittsburgh, PA