Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

V_Man

Cancelled
Original poster
Aug 1, 2013
I’ve been keeping tropical fish for over 30 years. Can’t remember not having a tank.

I’ve run saltwater, reef, freshwater tanks.
Though now I’m into the simplicity of freshwater. So much easier than salt water. Do a big weekly water change and that’s it.

I currently have what I think is a pair of tiger oscars is a 90 gallon tank. They are young but growing fast. They spend their days swimming side by side. Their tank mates are 4 clown loaches, black ghost knife, and couple of smaller albino plecos.

My tank is stocked very heavy. More than it should be but I do weekly large water changes and have overkill for filtration.

I love just sitting and watching the interactions between fish. The Oscars are almost taking food from my hand. They see me and beg for the food. Lol

9653BC66-093A-4813-9A14-ECC0E845B2EE.jpeg

SandboxGeneral

Moderator emeritus
Sep 8, 2010
Detroit
I've always wanted to get a tank of my own, but I always doubt my willingness to keep up with the maintenance of one.

V_Man

Cancelled
Original poster
Aug 1, 2013
maintenance isn’t bad on freshwater tanks. Lightly stocked tanks probably have 20-30 minutes a month. Water change and cleaning glass if needed. Only other thing is adding top off water. I average about 3-5 gallons a week with my tank

I probably do 80% water changes every week. Sometimes every other. Probably takes me 45 minutes to do a water change but most of that is vacuuming and refilling the tank. You just gotta remember that your filling a tank. Overflows make a mess. ?.

I have 3 filters. 2 AC 110s and a big generic canister. The alternate cleaning the 110s. Do one every month. While the tank is draining and refilling. Canister gets cleaned every 6 months. Just runs as a biological filter.