Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Learjet035

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 24, 2005
S. Floriduh
sorry for all the posts, I am a total newb. I have all my pics on my PC. I backed them all up on dvd using Roxio easy cd creator. When I put the dvd in my powerbook it doesn't show anything. Any ideas? I have Toast installed on the PB too.

killuminati

macrumors 68020
Dec 6, 2004
How did you burn all the pics? Did you just put all image files onto the dvd or did you burn it as a VCD or something. If you just dragged all the pictures onto the DVD it should work fine. Try it on another computer to test.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
Roxio Easy CD Creator -- the source of some traps for the unwary.

Did you close the session and finalise the disk or whatever they call it?

Learjet035

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 24, 2005
S. Floriduh
all I did was create a data dvd, dragged all my pics to it and let it burn. It auto finalizes. I runs fine on the PC but mac doesn't even recognize it. If I open toast, it sees it but not sure what to do with that. Guess I'm SOL. I'll try re-burning again and see what happens.

MisterMe

macrumors G4
Jul 17, 2002
USA
Learjet035 said:
all I did was create a data dvd, dragged all my pics to it and let it burn. It auto finalizes. I runs fine on the PC but mac doesn't even recognize it. If I open toast, it sees it but not sure what to do with that. Guess I'm SOL. I'll try re-burning again and see what happens.
One sign of insanity is to keep doing the same thing hoping for a different result. Two possibilities: 1. Make sure that the file system that you use to burn your DVD is useable on the Mac. 2. Perhaps autofinalized DVDs are not truly finalized. If you can see the files when you open the DVD in Toast on the Mac, you may try to finalize the DVD on the Mac. Alternatively, make sure that your Windows Toast settings ensure true finalization.