Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

typecase

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 2, 2005
Hello All,

I'm pretty new to the Mac and was wondering how to change my background color to a solid color other than the few that are available by default. In Windows, in the absence of a desktop picture, I can specify pretty much any color to be the background color. All I see are the several swatches of color and no way to get more colors.

Are these background "colors" simply little pictures that are tiled? How do I get a true background color that's not already there? Any help appreciated.

jackieonasses

macrumors 6502a
Mar 3, 2004
the great OKLAHOMA....
typecase said:
Hello All,

I'm pretty new to the Mac and was wondering how to change my background color to a solid color other than the few that are available by default. In Windows, in the absence of a desktop picture, I can specify pretty much any color to be the background color. All I see are the several swatches of color and no way to get more colors.

Are these background "colors" simply little pictures that are tiled? How do I get a true background color that's not already there? Any help appreciated.
Well... you could just go into photoshop.... and use the Paint Bucket tool to make your own color... save a jpeg.. and drag to make it your desktop. What color are you looking for?

kyle

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
Bergen, Norway
Edit: Forget everything... :eek:

Go with the photoshop option...

I thought you could use the palett that appears when you "center" an image, to decide the colour of the rest of the desktop, even if you didn't have an image... think I could do this earlier (but that might have been back in OS 9...)

typecase

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 2, 2005
jackieonasses said: