Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wisevot1900

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 30, 2019
Romania
Hy.I'm new to world of MAC.I just bought a Macbook Pro 13' Mid 2010 (A1278) without HDD , RAM and battery.After I installed the HDD (new) and RAM (100% OK with Memtest) I tried to install Mac OS Lion (to update later) to verify the laptops functionality.
Both Internet Recovery and DVD Install are getting stuck before any installation options appear.Both left all night to see if it continues but no luck.Tried to install Ubuntu , and Internet Recovery , same thing.The laptop doesn't have a battery but it starts perfectly.The keyboard backlight doesn't work but I don't think that's the reason it stalls.
I think there is a hardware problem but I can't find it.Apple Hardware Test doesn't work.Command + L doesn't show anything.
If you have any ideea please share it with me.Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_7679.JPG
    IMG_7679.JPG
    185.4 KB · Views: 877
  • IMG_7680.JPG
    IMG_7680.JPG
    171.7 KB · Views: 391

ThatGrimshaw

macrumors newbie
Oct 30, 2019
Have you reset the SMC and cleared the PRAM? That may be a good place to start.

PRAM reset: Turn off the computer, turn it back on and immediately press Cmd + Alt/Option + P + R on the keyboard. You'll hear the startup chime when it turns on—keep holding the buttons until the Mac turns off and back on again. You'll hear the chime a second time and then you can let go of the keys.

SMC reset: Turn off the computer. Press Shift + Control + Alt/Option on the left side of the keyboard, then press the power button at the same time. Hold the keys and the power button for 10 seconds. Restart.

ThatGrimshaw

macrumors newbie
Oct 30, 2019