Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MikeJett86

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2005
Dallas, Tx
hello everyone

i'm sorry in advance if this is a double post.

So- my ipod died. and the new ipods released today are nice. And i'm a college student. So, hypothetically, could I walk into an apple store tomorrow, give them my old, dead ipod for recycling and buy a new ipod (given they have them in stock) and save the 10% from the recycling program and then use my student discount on top of that? I tried looking for some fine print on the website but couldn't find any anywhere .... if so this would be very nice.

thanks for anyone who can help me clear this up.
MiKeJett

HasanDaddy

macrumors 6502a
Jul 16, 2002
Los Angeles
student discounts are avalable in store, for HARDWARE, not software

so techincally, you should get the discount on the iPod ----- I know that I've gotten an iPod before with student discount at the store - unless that has changed?

tsk

macrumors 6502a
Jan 14, 2004
Wisconsin
MikeJett86 said:
So- my ipod died. and the new ipods released today are nice. And i'm a college student. So, hypothetically, could I walk into an apple store tomorrow, give them my old, dead ipod for recycling and buy a new ipod (given they have them in stock) and save the 10% from the recycling program and then use my student discount on top of that? I tried looking for some fine print on the website but couldn't find any anywhere .... if so this would be very nice.

Yes, you can walk in and get your student discount. I've seen no exclusions that prevent you from stacking the 10% ontop of that. You will just need to bring in your student ID.

pyrodude

macrumors newbie
Jun 27, 2005
no

actually, i was at the apple store two days ago and i asked the same question.
The associate told me that only one will apply. Its either 10% or student discount...u be the judge.

paddy32

macrumors newbie