Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

awfulmacer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2016
Hi everyone,
I am a complete MAC novice having just migrated after years and years of specialization in Windows.

I am looking for a way or a program (free or not) that works like Taskbar Hide in Windows., in that, with a combination of keystrokes you can hide and unhide a RUNNING application from the Dock.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Right-click on the app (in the dock) you wish to hide.

Select "Hide xxx" from the contextual menu.

awfulmacer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2016
The solutions you are suggesting only hide the application window. I am talking about hiding both the window and the icon from the dock.

Also I've searched a lot of sites before posting here and I am pretty sure what I'm asking for is not an innate function of OS X and I need a third-party app to make it happen.

I already tried Dock Dodger but it doesn't work.

Last edited:

KALLT

macrumors 603
Sep 23, 2008
It used to work for sure, but the commands I found do not seem to work anymore. Now that Apple protects system files, the utility will be limited anyway. Given that you are a recent switcher, perhaps you should just let it sink in for a while? This is just how OS X works and these Dock icons are there by design. OS X uses the Dock to signify to the user that an application is running and that it can be closed. If you hide an icon from the Dock, then you will not be able to close that program anymore without Terminal or Activity Monitor.

Which applications do you want to hide anyway?

awfulmacer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2016