Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AllanScott

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2019
What is more advisable: hiring an expert in web development, or just doing it yourself? I’m a sole trader, and I’m in the process of building a website for my offers. My sister suggested that I hire this web development agency Surrey based that she knows, though I’m a little sceptical because of my limited budget. Is this a good idea? If it is, then maybe I can make some adjustments to my budget to accommodate this. But if I can do it myself, can you tell me how difficult can this be?

Cancelled
Apr 19, 2014
Web development is easy to do but hard to do well.

Having no idea what your skills are, I would recommend hiring someone, but only someone who will actually do development, not throw together a Wordpress site with a barely modified theme. You could do that yourself, so don't bother paying somebody for that.

Some stuff to think about whether you do it yourself or hire a dev would be security, SEO, performance on older computers, mobile friendliness, flexibility (how hard will it be to add a new section 8 months from now, for example), and obviously the overall user friendliness and aesthetics. You'll need to set up or have someone set up a server, DNS, TLS (don't overlook this; it's essential for security as well as SEO), any backends you may need (SQL, CGI, PHP, etc), and have a way to do backups.

Again though, it's probably better to just hire someone unless you already are comfortable with this or with tinkering with stuff. If that's the case, you can get HTML templates or look into static site generators like Grav to get the boilerplate out of the way. You will want a color scheme and logo that are easy to work with. Photoshop or Gimp experience will be good because a lot of times you'll need to edit pictures to work on your site.

Reactions: revmacian

Akrapovic

macrumors 65816