Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

choreo

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 10, 2008
Midland, TX
I have been using Capto Screen Capture utility for several years now to record tutorial video segments on the web.

I never had a problem with it on my 2012 Mac Pro all the way up through Sierra, but last week I upgraded to High Sierra and all my other software seems to be working but Capto? Capto launches and will record "video" fine, but no "computer audio". When I select that audio option in Capto it gives me a message that I have to install their Device Driver with instructions to go to System Preferences>Security&Privacy>General and click on "Allow" in "Allow apps downloaded from:" section, but it does not even show up?

I am able to still record audio and video in Capto on my 2015 MacBook Pro even in Catalina, so I would think it is not a Capto problem and I was always able to use it in High Sierra on my MacBook last year.

Is anyone having a similar problem?

Does anyone know where the Capto Device Driver is installed in High Sierra - maybe I can just manually copy it from my old Sierra folder to the new location?

choreo

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 10, 2008
Midland, TX
I finally found a solution as a Hail-Mary after at least 20 failed attempts!