Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ipodtouchie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 31, 2019
Looks like the price recently dropped because of 7?
Refurb 6 is $129.
I wish it were $99, but i don't know when that's gonna happen.... so....
I'm a noob and want to use Touch to run a few light apps and Skype.

bodonnell202

macrumors 68020
Jan 5, 2016
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Well, keep in mind that Touch 6 is not getting iOS 13. That might not matter to you for your use case but even so depending on what Apps you use it could become an issue in a couple years when App developers stop providing updates to Apps for devices running iOS 12.

Plutonius

macrumors G3
Feb 22, 2003
New Hampshire, USA
Well, keep in mind that Touch 6 is not getting iOS 13. That might not matter to you for your use case but even so depending on what Apps you use it could become an issue in a couple years when App developers stop providing updates to Apps for devices running iOS 12.

I have kept my Touch 6 on iOS 10 and have not had a problem with apps yet.

Going forward, I can see some apps not running because they will require more RAM then the Touch 6 has (i.e. a hardware issue and not an iOS issue).

Refurb 6 is $129.

If the price it right and satisfies your needs, I see no problem getting the Touch 6.

I also have no issues with Apple referbs.

Paddle1

macrumors 601
May 1, 2013
The battery is pretty bad, which could be a problem for something like Skype. Also no more iOS updates means app support could be lost.

You could make it work though if you don't mind those things.

icloud

macrumors 6502
Feb 15, 2005
Refurb 6 is $129.

The unusability of the 6th gen was a deal breaker for me. Tried using it again but applications, even music/podcasts was so sluggish (even on a clean install) that the device was unpleasant to use. Battery life was also a huge letdown. I personally wouldn’t recommend.

bscheffel