Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mystixman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 11, 2002
USA
Ok, Im a dumb newbie when it comes to building a computer, but would it be possible to get a normal MOBO, attach some G4 chips, and other Apple stuff, and have a workable Apple computer? I would like to make one with more than two cips, more room for DDR RAM, and more Hard Drives. I do computer animation and would love to have a MUCH faster machine. Anyone know?:confused: :confused:

rainman::|:|

macrumors 603
Feb 2, 2002
iowa
Easier would be to parallel process a bunch of macs. Somewhere i have research info, we did this a few years back on a bunch of 5400's (they were outdated already and we started with 10bT enet to see what results it would get us)... We used software from the UCLA particle simulations labratory, Dean Dauger was the grad student in charge at the time... It worked surprisingly well, won us quite a few awards.

As for building a one-unit cluster. You'd have a hell of a time doing it without advanced knowledge of electrical engineering and electronics. But i think the hardware would support processor clustering, if it was done symetrically... some G4 techies might be able to tell you more...

:)
pnw

shadowfax0

macrumors 6502
May 2, 2002
LightWave and Maya both implementations built in for parallel processing (parallel rendering) so you can look into that

rice_web

macrumors 6502a
Oct 25, 2001
Minot, North Dakota
Does anyone know have any information on Lightwave and clustering? I'd really like to get back into Lightwave modeling, but the render times were horrendous when advanced effects came into play.

tjwett

macrumors 68000
May 6, 2002
Brooklyn, NYC