Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SRLMJ23

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 11, 2008
Central New York
Have it running on three computers as we speak, my MacBook Air, Windows laptop, and a Windows Quad-Core desktop. Hope to add a lot of points to your (our) team! The two Windows machine run all the time because I hate Windows and use my Mac for basically everything.

Glad to join, my Grandmother just got diagnosed with the early stages of Parkinson's, so I chose that as my project, but will do others as time goes on.

Any tips, advice on f@h since I am brand new to this?

Once again, glad to be part of the team, and thank you to all of you who do this. We will truly make a difference. :)

:apple:

Reactions: mmomega

ChristianVirtual

macrumors 601
May 10, 2010
日本
Welcome to the team, SRLMJ23

Sorry to hear about your grandmother. A good reason to join the cause.

Tips ? Difficult to say. We would need to know more about your individual setup (e.g, post the first 200 lines of log file).

Are you going to fold mainly on CPU, GPU or a mix ? Specially the PC could host some dedicated GPU cards for folding yielding significant more point on your donor name. Depend on the GPU, though. NVidia with the current Maxwell cards have an amazing balance from performance and watt transformed in heat. But they also have some significant driver problem causing right now some restrictions.

But first at all: make sure to register a so called passkey. Once you returned 10 Workunits sucessfully you will receive higher points (as quick return bonus); don't miss that ;-)

Also keep in mind: folding cost money in the long run: hardware, Internet and energy bill need to get paid. Watch out how those develop.

If you have any specific question: just ask us :)

----------

Oh, and what is your donor ID ? we can a bit look after your :eek:

SRLMJ23

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 11, 2008
Central New York