Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Affinity or Adobe (Photoshop)?

• Affinity

• Adobe

Results are only viewable after voting.

TeddieBear

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2019
Hey everyone!

I’m aiming to learn design, photography, and a couple of other skills.

I keep going back and forth on what to get.

I’m pretty new to all this, so I want to make sure I pick the right software and learn it. From what I’ve been reading, skill-wise, if you know one set of software, you’ll understand the other for the most part.

I want to become a professional in this field, not a “pro-Sumer

Also, resume-wise (or job requirement-wise), if a job requires you to know photoshop/have photoshop skills, can you say you do have the skills if you have the Affinity apps but not Photoshop?

So, all in all, regardless of my goals, for you personally, what programs would you go for? The Affinity or Adobe apps?

BootLoxes

macrumors 6502a
Apr 15, 2019
From my experience there is a lot of overlap between the two programs. If you work in the industry you will most likely be on photoshop. If you go the freelance route affinity would be the better option.

Reactions: TeddieBear

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
I prefer Affinity because of their pricing structure. If money wasn’t an object or their financial models were the same, I’d still prefer Photoshop, even though Affinity has come a long way.

Regarding industry use, BootLoxes is right.

I will add though that with most work it’s not about knowing how to use a specific piece of software. It’s about the underlying knowledge. Just like being a programmer isn’t about knowing Xcode, or being a photographer isn’t about knowing all the menus and buttons on your camera.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
I want to become a professional in this field