Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dstopsky

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Hi there, I'm new to macrumors but I've been on some other mac forums for a while now. I just updated my website and wanted to know what you all thought (suggestions and comments are more than welcomed).

www.dstopsky.com

I also have a question regarding site design. I'd like to reference a file on all my pages so that when I update the navigation menu, relating links, etc. all of my pages will display the update. I'm not familiar with doing include files, but I've been trying to and it's not working (or maybe I'm doing it wrong). Any suggestions or other ideas?

Thanks a lot.

angelneo

macrumors 68000
Jun 13, 2004
afk
If you have dreamweaver, you can try using their library functions. It allows you linked any tables, texts, layers to a library item so when you update that library item, every page that uses that item gets updated. Same goes for their template.

munkle

macrumors 68030
Aug 7, 2004
On a jet plane
Not much to say about the design, it's a Dreamweaver template right? It works well enough.

Just a thought but you might be better running your site off a blogging platform, like WordPress. It would probably make things a lot easier for you, especially when it comes to updating your content.

dstopsky

macrumors newbie
Original poster
angelneo said:
If you have dreamweaver, you can try using their library functions. It allows you linked any tables, texts, layers to a library item so when you update that library item, every page that uses that item gets updated. Same goes for their template.
I thought about doing that, but using libraries would require me to upload all pages affected every time I update the library functions, correct? If that's the case I was hoping for something less time intensive, due to there being many pages. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Will Cheyney

macrumors 6502a