Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DaniRey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 7, 2019
Hi all,

I'm new with macOS server. I've a new requirement in my company due to a security audit and we need to have all in one place. So, i found JumpCloud and it would cover all my needs, except because the lan where i need the management has no internet access. I Only need to manage 10 users for each of the 10 Mac's on the network. I've installed macOS server 5.4, the last version for High Sierra. I have enrolled machines, and i can configure them remotely pushing profiles. All good as far. The difficulty i have now, is i want to add the user accounts to each machine remotely. Is this possible? I want to avoid adding and removing manually all the accounts each time an employee starts working here or leaves the company.

If i add devices to a user, the device belongs only to one user, and i need at least 10 users sharing each computer.
This is the only need we have to manage the network, so AD or more complex solutions are out of my mind if possible.

Thanks a lot for the help, and best regards!

josiemj

macrumors newbie
Nov 7, 2019
Boulder, Colorado
Hi DaniRey - Josie from JumpCloud here. You will definitely need internet access in order to manage systems since the commands are sent from JumpCloud's server to the agent that's installed on the system. This article might help explain: https://jumpcloud.com/product/device-management/

But it sounds like JumpCloud can do everything else you need, as long as you have internet.

You will be able to manage systems and add multiple users to each system. This includes disabling users.

Here's a 10min vid from Greg Keller on managing systems:

Hope this helps!

Reactions: DaniRey

DaniRey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 7, 2019