Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tim0

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 23, 2013
Russia
I realize this question has probably been answered somewhere, and I've read quite a bit on this already, but still find it hard to make a decision.

I have been using an i7 2012 mini for the last 6 years or so but haven't been able to update past Sierra due to some previous upgrades (dual SSD working in Raid 0). Not long ago I picked up a similar mini (couldn't quite resist the $220 price tag for the mini + trackpad+ keyboard) and got it maxed out with a 2TB Crucial MX500 SSD and 16GB RAM, with the intent of having a backup computer and gradually move to a newer OS without losing pace with my current projects. However, due to massive amount of information I can't quite decide whether I should choose Mojave or Catalina. I mostly use it for office programs and Parallels (I work in translations and some of my tools only work in Windows), as well as ATV3 streaming. Any advice is welcome!

now i see it

macrumors G4
Jan 2, 2002
I'm an ardent proponent of staying at least one version behind on MacOS. Mojave is done. Catalina is still a work in progress. There's nothing in Catalina that will make it a better experience, more likely a worse one (until it gets finished).
My vote is to use Mojave until August or so, then reconsider.

Reactions: djc6 and Codeseven

Kamolas

macrumors member
Dec 11, 2018
I have a Mini 2012 too, and I upgraded recently to an SSD. I decided to install Mojave for the exact same reasons the previous user wrote. Go for Mojave and you should be fine.

newellj

macrumors G3
Oct 15, 2014
East of Eden
Another vote for Mojave.
Or even High Sierra.

Agree, for most users Mojave seems very stable. It runs great on my 2012 Mini. Take a look at the Catalina sub forum - I would not make that leap now (possibly never, due to the 32-bit app limitation in Catalina).

Reactions: !!!