Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anthony8720

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 4, 2005
USA
Just curious. I got my new pb and am overall very very happy with it. But i am a biologist and work that i do requires up close scrutinay of several photographs. These horizontal lines make that very annoying. If this is a software problem i wont be that discouraged, but if it is hardware i may have to get a pre-october refurb. Anyone have any insight into this issue?

g0gie

macrumors regular
Jan 31, 2005
All signs point to a hardware issue, although theres a possibility of it being a firmware issue, but at this time its most likley hardware

ITASOR

macrumors 601
Mar 20, 2005
Personally, I think it's a refresh rate issue which I think is a software issue. If I put any of my LCDs on the wrong refresh rate, they have identical lines to those of the powerbook.

kjellhar

macrumors newbie
Dec 5, 2005
Oslo, Norway
If it is a software problem (which I also suspect), it should be possible to make it disappear by installing linux and tweeking the video settings. It may also be a firmware issue, and it won't be fixed until Apple address the problem.

So, has anyone tried the new PB with Linux??

Personally I don't see it as a problem. I have to get as close as 15cm from the screen to actually see the effect. I know that would give me a headache, lines or not :)

Spectrum

macrumors 68000
Mar 23, 2005
Never quite sure
ITASOR, the lines you see when you put other LCDs on the wrong refresh rate: do they _really_ look like the alternate 1 pixel wide static horizontal lines on the PBs?

I only ask, because the PBs also show a variety of wider horizontal "interference" banding and wavy dynamic diagonal banding in some colours, which is worse in the top left of the screen. And I wonder if this is what you refer to.

Cheers!