Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blairh

macrumors 603
Original poster
Dec 11, 2007
Wanted to create a thread where Powerbeats Pro owners can share their thoughts. I'm just going to try to add things you won't necessarily see in the professional reviews. You can read countless professional reviews online or watch them on YouTube. I should add that I've been using the Powerbeats3's for 16 months before receiving the Pro's.

I'll start by saying you do not need the charging case during the day. I wasn't clear how the pairing/repairing process would work without the case. But in my testing so far, you can wake the Pro's simply by putting them in your ear after a period of inactivity. Meaning you can put the Pro's in any case/pouch of your choosing, and then pop them in your ears for them to work. This solves the issue of how to carry them around in your front pocket. Just buy any pouch/case on Amazon that you like and you are good to go. I personally am using this pouch and it works great for me. Very slim profile and super easy to carry in my front pocket when desired. Now, David Carnoy at CNET did make the obvious point during his initial hands-on video that Apple should have included a cheap carrying pouch with the Pro's in the box. But yes, the charging case should not stop anyone from getting the Pro's.

Speaking of the charging case, it's even bigger than I thought. The issue is the thickness. It's essentially the size of a standard post-it note, but it's a thick boy. Reminds me of a square hockey puck. Definitely not pocketable in most pockets unless they are quite large and even then it will probably stick out. It's really just meant for a bag. Also it's a bit slippery. There are no grooves to grip aside from the 'B' logo on the top. It's very smooth otherwise and I wish Apple had designed it to be easier to grip. It could easily slip out of your hand if you aren't careful.