Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

5300cs

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Nov 24, 2002
japan
This may be more suited for the Community Discussion, but...

I've been trying to learn programming for a long, long time. The problem is that I just don't get it (I suck at it.) I've tried Perl, Java and C++ and find them extremely complicated.

I'm okay with foreign languages, for example I can speak Japanese, German and a little French. When I studied Japanese for example, I could usually see a logical connection between things; why this is so, and when this is here, this thing goes on the end of this verb, or whatever. When I'm looking at code for Java though, for example, I'm totally lost. I'll be reading a text book with simple step by step instructions and my eyes start crossing after like 5 minutes. All these libraries, all these classes...

I've heard that it's just not possible for some people to be programmers, and that if you don't keep at it, you won't be able to do it (duhh.) Is it personality-related? Do I need to be an analytical thinker? Good with math? Or am I just *sigh* stupid?

Any insight appreciated.

(I was an art major in school, if that helps at all.)

Mav451

macrumors 68000
Jul 1, 2003
Maryland
I'm gonna tell you, I did VB (easy) in school, but when it got to C++ I really struggled.

Likewise, at college, Java and Matlab could easily destroy my will/confidence, and smash it into the ground. Let's just say I work ALOT harder than my peers who were good with C++.

I say you either got it, or you don't. Seriously. Its almost a talent thing. If you've watched Naruto, you will know there are two kinds of people in the world:
1) Genius-type
2) Hard-working type (no Bloodline limit).

I believe that applies here. If you don't got it, you're gonna hafta to work your ass off, and even then, it may not be good enough.

Reactions: Stalyn

Demon Hunter

macrumors 68020