Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Texas_Toast

Suspended
Original poster
Feb 6, 2016
Texas
In a former lifetime I was a serious amateur photographer, but I have been away from that for basically 20 years.

And because I am starting an online business early next year, and because I (unexpectedly) took several hundred photos at our work holiday party, I need some help getting back up to speed ASAP!!!

My first challenge is finding an *easy* and *affordable* way to do basic photo editing. (Things like rotating images, changing the dimensions, and creating thumbnails/smaller images optimized for the web/mobile.)

What do you use for basic photo editing on your Mac?

This past summer, a guy at the local camera shop recommended Adobe Lightroom over Photoshop because he said it is better at doing basic editing (e.g. cropping, rotating, resizing, optimizing) plus you can apparently "batch" large numbers of photos.

That sounds good, but I don't want to put my business/personal photos on anyone's "Cloud", and I'm not crazy about having to pay every month for something I may not use regularly!!

Any suggestions on a solution that I can learn ASAP and use to edit my holiday photos so they are ready on Monday for work, but also something that will grow with my start up business?

Reactions: Xavier Roga

kallisti

macrumors 68000
Apr 22, 2003
Apple's Photos program will do all of the things you outlined. Plus it's already on your Mac and thus free. It's more powerful than the old iPhoto but not as powerful as the now defunct Aperture.

Photoshop is not easy or intuitive (though might be worth learning at some point). Lightroom Classic is fairly robust and is an order of magnitude easier to learn than Photoshop. Both Adobe products require a subscription, though neither requires use of the "Cloud".