Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tom.Tom

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 26, 2020
Hello,

I've recently got two 2009 Imacs with the video issue I have never come across before. The symptoms are as described briefly in the topic:
  • both boot with chime and load the OS (Live Linux from USB),
  • four LEDs are on,
  • the LCDs get the backlight, but no video data (black screen with just the backlight),
  • no video on the external monitor,
  • GPUs are 100% OK,
  • LCDs and LVDS cables are 100% OK.
I suspect motherboards, but two iMacs with the same issue? Maybe this is something common for these models and somebody has solved that before? I've got the schematics, boardview and skills to do SMD soldering, but I'm not an expert in finding such issues on the motherboards.

Any help would be very appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Tom

Tom.Tom

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 26, 2020
Is the video problem still present when running macOS?
Yes, I've just configured the OSX to allow screen sharing, put the SSD into one of these iMacs and I'm able to connect to it and normally remotely work on it. The screen remains black - just with the backlight.
I can even put the screen to sleep and the backlight goes off. When I wake the screen, the backlight goes on.

Attachments

• obraz_2022-07-15_200059059.png
    obraz_2022-07-15_200059059.png
    77.4 KB · Views: 65

Mactech20

macrumors regular
Jun 21, 2021
Honestly it sounds like the Backlight is plugged in but the display plug is not. It is seperate on these models.

Tom.Tom

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 26, 2020
How did you acquire these iMacs? If they were sold as salvage it might be that the reason is that they don't have working video.
Yes, they were sold as with failed GPU, which is 80% of failures in these macs and in 99% replacing the GPU solves this problem, but apparently this is that 1% where it's not the case...