Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NewBench

Cancelled
Original poster
Jun 24, 2010
I'm a writer primarily, but frequently watch YouTube/Netflix and now Apple TV+. I want to be able to watch in 1080p (Full HD) without the MBA slowing down and running super hot.

I do no video editing, very minimal photo editing.

I will frequently have a Discord window open in the background whilst watching YouTube/Netflix in 1080p. I don't game at all.

Will the base model 2019 model do all of the above fairly comfortably for the next 2 years or should I go for the pro instead -OR- more RAM?

In summary:
-Always have a Discord window open
-Stream Netflix/YouTube/Apple TV+ for several hours a day at the same time.
-Work is mostly writing
-Zero video editing
-Very minimal photo editing.
-No "gaming" of any kind

Thanks

iluvmacs99

macrumors 6502a
Apr 9, 2019
I'm a writer primarily, but frequently watch YouTube/Netflix and now Apple TV+. I want to be able to watch in 1080p (Full HD) without the MBA slowing down and running super hot.

I do no video editing, very minimal photo editing.

I will frequently have a Discord window open in the background whilst watching YouTube/Netflix in 1080p. I don't game at all.

Will the base model 2019 model do all of the above fairly comfortably for the next 2 years or should I go for the pro instead -OR- more RAM?

In summary:
-Always have a Discord window open
-Stream Netflix/YouTube/Apple TV+ for several hours a day at the same time.
-Work is mostly writing
-Zero video editing
-Very minimal photo editing.
-No "gaming" of any kind

Thanks