Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cool11

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 3, 2006
I am gonna give a try to setup and work in wordpress, for building a web site.
It is my first time with a cms, as 'till now I only used dreamweaver.
I hope my try to go well, but surely I will need some kind of help, so please if someone can help and share knowledge, to do it here, to help me proceed with my experimentation.

My first question is about migrating a site locally built, to a hosting provider.
How easy is this? I guess it is not just about copying files, but I need some guidance about how to setup database there on the server, and possibly changes about some paths.
How these can be done?

olup

Cancelled
Oct 11, 2011
I am gonna give a try to setup and work in wordpress, for building a web site.
It is my first time with a cms, as 'till now I only used dreamweaver.
I hope my try to go well, but surely I will need some kind of help, so please if someone can help and share knowledge, to do it here, to help me proceed with my experimentation.

My first question is about migrating a site locally built, to a hosting provider.
How easy is this? I guess it is not just about copying files, but I need some guidance about how to setup database there on the server, and possibly changes about some paths.
How these can be done?
Depending on the hosting provider, they at times have a 1-click installation of CMS, whether that's wordpress or another CMS.

If they don't, then you need to copy the files from your local wordpress installation into the root directory(/) of your website. Once that's done, go to your website (website.com/wp-admin), the wp-admin will take you through the setup of wordpress.

Reactions: cool11

cool11

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 3, 2006
Does the installation procedure/file of wp creates the mysql database needed, to function?