Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Huntn

macrumors Core
Original poster
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
World of Warships- has anyone been participating in the beta? If so, I'm interested in your impression. I'm wondering what kind of strategy you employ with opposing ships, just drive ar each other and shoot? There are no hills, just islands. Much of modern Naval combat seems to center on ambush for the advantage. These maps, at least the WoT maps are not huge so the opportunity for surprise is somewhat limited especially when there are not that many maps, when you know each map and where the fighting usually occurs.

shot_001_0.jpg

Huntn

macrumors Core
Original poster
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
Brought over from the What Game You Playing thread:
I started playing World of Warhsips in the closed beta and have been playing off and on up until now. Some of the newer high tier premium ships are so overtuned it is ridiculous.

So what are the best premium ships in your opinion? I bought a T5 Murmansk, and a T5 Okhotnik.

The difficulty I find with this game, is judging when you are getting in over your head. And the adage: first seen, first kilt, or at least first shot appears to be oh so true. :)

Last edited:

TheHateMachine

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2012
Brought over from the What Game You Playing thread:

So what are the best premium ships in your opinion? I bought a T5 Murmansk, and a T5 Okhotnik.

The difficulty I find with this game, is judging when you are getting in over your head. And the adage: first seen, first kilt, or at least first shot appears to be oh so true. :)

The T5 Giulio Cesare is very good. It is rare because it doesn't spend too much time in the premium rotation. Also the T9 Jean Bart is also a monster, it's roof is insane.