Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Huntn

macrumors Core
Original poster
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
After reading this post: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/elite-dangerous-tips.1837186/post-28018111, at this point, I’m wondering how Elite Dangerous stacks up against X4:Foundations?

When I first played ED, when it was a new game, I was impressed, but I did not like the navigation from system to system, and it became apparant at least for my preferences that bounty hunting was the only fun thing to do, trading was a grind, and then those got old.

Then I started playing X3 which had been out for years, and wowed the hell out of me, but it had a cliff like learning curve. Fortunately I found a X3 fanatic online who was more than willing to hold my hand. I played that game for a long time.

There was no need for you to be out schlepping around the universe making all of your own trades. You could hire Captains to run your ships for you, send them out on trade routes, and they have the ability to somewhat make their own trade decisions, based on parameters you set up. You could remote pilot exploration ships, having them explore new systems for you and set up advance satellites that would aid you with remote trading. And if you left the game running over night, you could wake up the next morning $30m richer, which made a huge difference because ships were not cheap. Based on what could be accomplished it was a much more fleshed out simulation. It was my kind of game.