Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fb3

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 20, 2017
Hi guys.

On the fence about pulling the trigger for the new 10.5 or 12.9. They really triggered me :) !!!
I'm kind of fully equipped (iMac at work & home (older models but OK), rMB for work on the go, iPad Air 1 for couching) but I really fancy the new iPPs as I always wanted to have the Apple Pen for note taking and annotating scientific papers.

I'm a scientist and my top 3 uses for a iPP would be:
- read new papers and take notes (on the paper margin, ideas, highlight stuff)
- sketch illustrations that might become figures later (Affinity Designer et al.)
- as a lab notebook/ ideas (GoodNotes or so)
- occasional writing while on the go (Word, GDocs, Scrivener; but would probably shift to the rMB)
- web search and the usual stuff

My main concerns now are:
1 Price: These things are expensive in Europe - at a minimum I'd need the Apple Pen and would probably go for the 256GB version for future proofing (128GB would be ideal I guess)... Do I really want the crazy expensive keyboard on top?
2 Benefit for reading A4 sized Pdfs: I briefly saw a colleague use the original 12.9 and at that time it seemed crazy bulky; however I have the feeling that the 10.5 could compromize the reading of letter / A4 sized scientific articles as one has to zoom often I assume?
3 Handling: The weight of the 12.9 is approaching the weight of the rMB and I cannot see myself comfortably holding that one or two-handed for a long time for reading? Anyone using the 12.9 in this way or is everyone using it as a laptop on a desk most of the time (connected to the keyboard)...

Opinions? Anyone use them in their academic life (maybe not as a student but on the PostDoc level or up)?

Cheers,
fb3

Dave245

macrumors G3
Sep 15, 2013