Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ceruleanventure

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
First time poster, long time forum reader here :D . I'm still pretty new to the world of macs, but I have two questions about the 12 inch powerbook:

1) Call me weird, but the powerbook line seems to be more physically sturdy than the new macbooks (the macbooks seemed kinda flimsy no offense). This coming spring I'm going to be doing a lot of traveling for school. Are the powerbooks durable enough to be put in a back pack and carried around Europe?

2) What do you guys think a 12 inch powerbook is worth now? The prices on ebay are all over the place, but an average price seems to be about $500 for an 867mhz 12 inch powerbook. What do you guys think?

Thanks for you help!

Acehigh

macrumors 6502
Mar 5, 2006
ceruleanventure said:
First time poster, long time forum reader here :D . I'm still pretty new to the world of macs, but I have two questions about the 12 inch powerbook:

1) Call me weird, but the powerbook line seems to be more physically sturdy than the new macbooks (the macbooks seemed kinda flimsy no offense). This coming spring I'm going to be doing a lot of traveling for school. Are the powerbooks durable enough to be put in a back pack and carried around Europe?

2) What do you guys think a 12 inch powerbook is worth now? The prices on ebay are all over the place, but an average price seems to be about $500 for an 867mhz 12 inch powerbook. What do you guys think?

Thanks for you help!

Notice this one on craiglist. Not my listing but seems like a good deal
http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/sys/171699289.html

Are you going to put it in a case then in the backpack? What else will be in the backpack? You probably want to find a newer laptop since the battery life is probably most important to you. Also look for Built in Airport since alot of Free WIFI spots in Europe.