Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iThat

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 20, 2011
First before anyone says "you can already do that with your iPhone/iPT this is contingent by the fact i simply don't want to be tied down to my iphone (or any phone) for the rest of my natural life.

Also, before some snide remarks about why i should do it myself.
I have no technical knowledge about these things.
I just hope my conceptions and tip help get the ball rolling.

I'm also hoping we could all throw down on this. I myself am ready to pony up 12$ right now. I know that isn't much at all to start (thats not even lint). I like most of you are a poor college student. But i will keep the tally going right up to the 2015/16 WDC events. (Whichever comes first)

**There are thousands of jailbreak users if everyone pledged only 1$ we could have a total in the 50,000$ range by spring of next year.**

You don't even necessarily need to own a nano to contribute now. This is like deep space 1 in reverse. We fund now and get the hardware later.

I'm committed to this idea and will only add funds going further as I can.

I hope some of you will join me.

Here are 12 reasons why i think its crucial we have a iPod Nano 7th gen jailbreak.
Feel free to add your own below.

- Ability to use the nano as a bluetooth headset.
Or more to the point (Ability to use the nano as a voice gateway.)

- Take text notes.
The included voice memo engine is great but not practical when you don't want to disturb loved ones in close proximity or want to take sensitive personal notes.

- RDS data stream harnessing
Text+ data for weather and EMA's could be funneled into weather or other apps. All without any data charges.

Keep in mind RDS2.0 is also coming out soon and will offer 2 additional EMA stations with even more info. It will be backwards compatible with RDS1

- Auto turn on and flash screen for important emergency alerts.