Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stitch19

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2020
The place I live limits me to this budget and these two macbook pros are the best I can get(both specced devices come to a almost identical price):

• 13" 2020
  • 2.3ghz i7 10th gen
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • 1TB SSD

• 16" 2019
  • 2.3ghz i9 9th gen
  • 16GB DDR4 RAM
  • 1TB SSD

I am a graphic designer and I am 99% in photoshop and illustrator. I would buy the 16" model in a heartbeat if I knew 16GB RAM will be enough. I do work rarely on 2-3GB .PSB(large photoshop files) and if I know the 16GB pro could handle them that would be great. 13" model small screen does not bother me as 70% of the time it will be hooked to a nice large monitor on a desktop, and that's why also the big size of 16" does not bother me neither.

It will be my first MAC device and its very important to be the right one as I am planning to use it as my work and only device for the next 5 years. With that in mind I am not sure what specs are more important for a MAC. I just know as a graphic designer my apps don't need a great GPU.

malkovich87

Suspended
May 13, 2020
Absolutely no issues for your usage scenario. I have the 1tb base model with 16gb of RAM. I spend ours every day in Lightroom, Photoshop and Indesign and have absolutely zero issues. I routinely edit drone panoramas stitched together from 4-6 images, batch process wedding pictures etc - it just flies through everything. I came from a fully maxed out 2019 iMac with 40gb of RAM and Vega graphics and literally don’t see any noticeable difference in processing times for what I do.