Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wubbdie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 8, 2021
Germany
Hey there!

I’m a music producer who is using Ableton and I like to finally buy a new machine since my old MBP is very old. Coming from an old MBP from 2009 I know that the M3 will be a massive upgrade for me! But as you can see I‘m not the person who buys a new MBP every 2 years.

So I‘m torn between the 14“ Pro 12/18 1 TB, 18 gigs of ram or the 14“ (binned) Max 14/30 1TB, 36 gigs of ram

I don’t know if I‘ll use the new machine in the timeframe of my MBP 2009 but at least 4-5 years.

Ableton only uses the performance cores of the M3, so I don’t know if the Pro will fit my needs because I also bought complete new plugins which are more demanding than my old ones. And the pro has only 18 gig of ram so the might be some ssd swap when doing music. But it might be enough for me.

So the binned max seems to be the better choice on the long term because it has more ram and more performance cores. But I‘m really concerned about the fan noise of the binned max. I read so much about the fan noise on video editing and normal tasks like browsing but I couldn’t find any info about fan noise when doing music production.

Since my old MBP sounds like a start of a plane I really want a (near) silent book. So which one would you choose in terms of my work, fan noise and timeframe to use?

And don’t tell me to buy an M2 Max. I know it would be the best choice but I really want the sexy space black! 😉

MacDevil7334

Contributor
Oct 15, 2011
Austin TX