Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
Hi,

Im looking to buy a new macbook to replace my old intel one. My budget is enough to buy a new m3 macbook air 15’’ with 8gb or a refurbished m2 one (from apple refurbished program) with 16gb.
Im a student and wont use the laptop for very heavy tasks, I’ll use it mostly for working on powerpoint, word, excel and browsing (maybe occasionally a bit of gaming, but thats not the main thing ill use the laptop for).
I usually have quite a bit of apps/tabs open at the same time, and usually work on multiple docs at one, so Im worried that 8gb may cut it a bit short. I currently work on a pc with 16gb of ram and never had any problems.
I do want to keep the laptop a decent amount of time (5+ years).

I googled a bit and found an impressive number of heated discussions about 8gb vs 16gb, but didnt quite see a consensus. Seeing as these 2 laptops are the same price, Im not sure which one would be the better deal.

Last edited:

Basic75

macrumors 68000
May 17, 2011
Europe
You'll just have to make the choice yourself as the only thing we can do here is chew through the same old arguments for the 100th time without coming to any conclusion. Or what response do you expect that you haven't seen in all the other discussions on the same subject?

RobertPS

macrumors member
Dec 3, 2010
If you want to keep it a long time then get the one with 16GB.
Even more so if you plan to use Chrome, which has a reputation for being a memory hog.

Supermallet

macrumors 68000
Sep 19, 2014
Get the M2 with 16 GB. The improvements from M2 to M3 will be minuscule for your purposes but the difference in RAM will help give you headroom and ensure longevity.

Reactions: Chuckeee

kschendel

macrumors 65816
Dec 9, 2014
Is the title correct? because if it is, the M3 16GB is a no-brainer.