Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RyanFlynn

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 24, 2006
Los Angeles
Hey Friends,

I'm a professional composer pretty much using my maxed out my m1 ultra Mac Studio Ultra with 8tb and 128gb memory to its maximum potential. It mostly shreds everything I throw at it, but occasionally get to the point that it slows down and playback becomes impossible. Usually this is a ram issue and I can get around it by freezing tracks.

That said, with the new m3 max being able to hit 128gb, do you guys thing I would notice a performance drop from the the m1 ultra? It would be nice to be able to grab a laptop with all my samples and most of my software effects for working away from the studio.

Thanks for your insight and help!
Ryan

camotwen

macrumors member
Jul 10, 2022
Apple claims that M3 max is 80% faster than M1 max (in multicore). AFAIK M1 ultra is supposed to be ~100% faster than M1 max. So I assume M3 max is slightly slower but pretty close. I would wait for benchmarks and reviews first.

Rnd-chars

macrumors regular
Apr 4, 2023
It depends what the RAM issue is. If it’s purely quantity, I wouldn’t expect it to be any worse but also no better. If it’s due to bandwidth, the Max has half the bandwidth of the Ultra so may introduce performance problems.

You’d get faster single core performance with the Max, though again it may not have any substantial impact on your workflow.

Overall? I’d guess it’s a wash, though you gain portability and faster single thread performance.

Onimusha370

macrumors 6502a
Aug 25, 2010
Hey Friends,

I'm a professional composer pretty much using my maxed out my m1 ultra Mac Studio Ultra with 8tb and 128gb memory to its maximum potential. It mostly shreds everything I throw at it, but occasionally get to the point that it slows down and playback becomes impossible. Usually this is a ram issue and I can get around it by freezing tracks.