Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AntDX316

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 25, 2010
17.4 Developer Beta but Xcode only downloads 17.0?

I have 17 Beta 4 Update on all my Apple devices but Xcode only downloads the 17.0 image.

I assume Developer Betas are just looks and don't affect app functionality? I'm new to Apple Coding. I know on Unity and Android, if you up the versions, you gain access to new things but certain things won't work anymore. Is it like this with Apple? I assume Apple is way easier to code?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Yes. Updates come with feature changes and API changes. Usually not all that much with just a point release but still.

What version of iOS you have on your phone doesn’t matter when it comes to what version of the iOS simulator Xcode downloads.

You need the beta version of Xcode to use the sdk for developer beta operating systems and test with them.

Why would you assume it’s easier to program for Apple than android? Programming is programming. Tooling is more cohesive and platform knowledge works across all Apple but programming is programming

Greybeard2017

macrumors member
Dec 7, 2020
17.4 Developer Beta but Xcode only downloads 17.0?

I have 17 Beta 4 Update on all my Apple devices but Xcode only downloads the 17.0 image.

I assume Developer Betas are just looks and don't affect app functionality? I'm new to Apple Coding. I know on Unity and Android, if you up the versions, you gain access to new things but certain things won't work anymore. Is it like this with Apple? I assume Apple is way easier to code?

Yes you have to be very careful or you can get out of sync and things will stop working

AntDX316

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 25, 2010