Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lapino

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 6, 2009
I have been using lastpass for several years (free!) but recently having bought a MacBook Air, I find the lastpass app lacking. So I tried 1password, migrated my passwords and I kinda like it. But it costs, about 40 euro compared to Lastpass. I use both windows pc's, iPad, iPhone, Macbook etc so I need a cross-platform utility (so keychain isn't enough for me).

So now I have a choice to make? Stay with lastpass and use a subpar (web based) tool, or move to 1password and pay up. Opinions? Anyone else who switched to a paid service?

lapino

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 6, 2009
care to explain why? is lastpass still good/better? I really dislike the ui on my MacBook, but of course it's free

einsteinbqat

macrumors 6502
Nov 3, 2012
Canada
I have been using lastpass for several years (free!) but recently having bought a MacBook Air, I find the lastpass app lacking. So I tried 1password, migrated my passwords and I kinda like it. But it costs, about 40 euro compared to Lastpass. I use both windows pc's, iPad, iPhone, Macbook etc so I need a cross-platform utility (so keychain isn't enough for me).

So now I have a choice to make? Stay with lastpass and use a subpar (web based) tool, or move to 1password and pay up. Opinions? Anyone else who switched to a paid service?
I find LP clunky. Been a non-subscribing user of 1P for years. You can still get 1P with a 1-time purchase. You just need to email Support.

PilotWoo

macrumors 6502
Jul 14, 2006
I use 1Password but without the subscription. When they force me to pay the sub I will switch to LastPass. I don't find I use most of the 1Password features. I guess it depends whether the 1Password UI is worth your money.

Reactions: cdcastillo

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.