Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tobal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 13, 2023
This is my first post on Macrumors forums :)

I have a first generation HomePod. It was re-gifted to me by a friend who said that he liked his Sonos speakers better. I was thrilled as I used to be a diehard Apple fan boy who went to MacWorld conventions at Moscone Center, from 1992 until they stopped happening. I worked at ComputerWare, the SF Bay Area precursor to Apple’s international retail stores, for four years; then at the first flagship Apple Store off of Union Square @ Market St. I know my Apple ****.

My experience with this gifted HomePod, is one of the error ridden frustrations that has led me to become less of an Apple fan.

I pretty much exclusively use the HomePod as a speaker attached to my Apple TV (first gen 4k). I’ve been using the HomePod since Christmas 2019.

My frustration is that the HomePod continuously loses connection with my Apple TV. At first I thought it was a problem with a streaming service that I was using, Netflix. A movie that I was watching stopped playing and the whole Netflix app on my Apple TV seemed to be frozen. I called Netflix and someone in tech-support said that they had to reset one of their back end settings to make my account work. Once they had reset on their end, and I went back in to use Netflix, it worked fine, but I noticed that the sound was now coming through my TV speakers and no longer through my HomePod. I reconnected to HomePod and started to have the same problems. I pretty quickly connected the dots, and realized that the problem was not with Netflix, it seemed to be with my HomePod.

The problem has gotten a little bit better, with a few of the last HomePod firmware updates, but the problem still exists and I have to reconnect my HomePod to my Apple TV, on average about 15 times a week.