Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FLappleGuy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2016
Orlando, FL
Hey Guys!

Complete newbie here who has learned quite a bit in these forums, which has led me to successfully upgrade my 2006 Mac Pro to Yosemite! I'm very thankful for all the help on here.

When I got the new OS installed, I wanted to check temps and fan statuses to make sure everything was running fine, and I noticed Riser A RAM is running VERY hot. I did some searches here on the forums, and on google, but the highest I ever saw someone report it running was maybe 200F. Mine is coming back at 262F.

The weird thing is Riser B is fluctuating between 130-160F, where as Riser A has been a steady 262F whether I just turned the machine on, or turn the fan speed up, or anything. I can't get it to go down at all, and there is really no software running on it that would be hogging things.

I'm using iStatMenus for the temperature information. The Mac is a 2006 Mac Pro, Flashed to 2,1, running OS X Yosemite with 32GB of RAM. The ram has the flat heat sink, if that contributes to this at all.

Any suggestions you could provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

efqlNWP.jpg

QRHwSac.jpg

pastrychef

macrumors 601
Sep 15, 2006
New York City, NY
Holy moly!!! Those are insane temps. Are you sure the reading is correct??

Maybe you can try using SMC Fan Control to manually crank up the fan. I would not leave the computer on for long with those temps.

FLappleGuy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2016
Orlando, FL
Holy moly!!! Those are insane temps. Are you sure the reading is correct??

Maybe you can try using SMC Fan Control to manually crank up the fan. I would not leave the computer on for long with those temps.