Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

walnawk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 25, 2015
Seattle, WA
I am new to Mac. I erased my mac mini by accident, it is a 2010 Mac Mini. Apple store said that don't support that. I have done serious research and gotten mixed advice on what to do, I do need the High Sierra OS which I don't have, my favor to ask is: can someone here share with me an old High Sierra so I can download and make a USB to boot my Mac. I appreciate your response in advance. My plan is to borrow my friend's mac (I only have PC at home) so that I can reformat a USB and put the Mac OS on it to use as a boot disk.

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009
I am new to Mac. I erased my mac mini by accident, it is a 2010 Mac Mini. Apple store said that don't support that. I have done serious research and gotten mixed advice on what to do, I do need the High Sierra OS which I don't have, my favor to ask is: can someone here share with me an old High Sierra so I can download and make a USB to boot my Mac. I appreciate your response in advance. My plan is to borrow my friend's mac (I only have PC at home) so that I can reformat a USB and put the Mac OS on it to use as a boot disk.
Get High Sierra directly from Apple. It's linked on this page: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211683

walnawk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 25, 2015
Seattle, WA
I tried that already, it says "the item requested is not available in the US store". So I am wondering if anyone in here might have a downloaded copy stashed away and willing to share in here.

mdgm

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2010
You could try downloading Sierra from that page then. You can easily update to High Sierra after installing Sierra.

walnawk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 25, 2015
Seattle, WA
Yes, that makes sense. I should get a lower copy then upgrade....