Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dotme

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 18, 2011
Iowa
I'm not experienced when it comes to troubleshooting and would be very grateful for some help. Long read, but hopefully the detail will help.

Late-2012 Mac Mini, 500GB HD with 300GB free, and Crucial 16GB RAM. The only attached peripherals are a wired Apple keyboard, and dual monitors.

Perfectly happy little machine until last week, when we upgraded from 10.14.2 to 10.14.3

After the upgrade, it was unusable - 40 seconds or more between clicking an icon and anything happening. Same behavior whether logged in as main user, or guest. Really sluggish. Safe mode worked fine though.

Unable to find a cause, we used time machine to restore to the day before the upgrade, so we put it back on 10.14.2, and left it overnight.

In the morning I found that it was now out of disk space! (It had eaten all 300GB of free space, leaving a paltry 11MB remaining, which it continued to try and eat). Unable to do anything with it at that point, I re-ran the Time Machine restore again, and this time logged in as soon as it was done.

In 5 minutes after booting up, there were over 4GB of disk writes according to Activity Monitor - it is eating space again. Turned off iCloud, unchecked all Spotlight indexes. No change.

When I sort Activity Monitor by disk writes, nothing in the list comes anywhere close to 4GB written since restart. So whatever's eating disk space isn't visible to me as a process.

You can hear the drive working all the time. In Console, I identified a log that is out of control. The log at

/var/log/DisgnosticMessages is writing several lines per second. So I think I found the culprit. It's a file called "2019.2.18.asl" and most of the entries are under a process called "ReportCrash"