Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bixxy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2017
London
Hey there,

I wonder if I could ask for a little advice on the suitability of the Imac 2017 or the Imac Pro.

I am a Freelance Graphic Designer working in London. I work mainly in CC versions of Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign.

The most taxing projects I work on are large events, so stage sets and wall sized posters things like this. Large multilayered Illustrator and Photoshop files. And large multipage Indesign documents with plenty of high res imported images. The largest files can sometimes hit 3 or 4 GB +. I usually have Multiple apps running, all of the above plus MS PPT, Excel and Word, flicking between all these constantly.

I am toying with pushing the button on a fully loaded 5K IMac now or an IMac pro when they arrive. I think I know the answer but wanted to fully confirm it with people who know their stuff far more than I.

The main Q here, or at least i think so is, would the 8 Core Imac pro be significantly better than the full fat i7 5K IMac 2017 in these apps or not. I am finding it tricky to get detailed definitive sourced information on how many cores Illustrator, Photoshop and Indesign use these days. I don’t mean some odd filters here and there but real world day-to-day use of the programs.

I have the budget for either, cost isn’t the issue, however I don’t want to waste my budget for little gain.

Thanks for all your advice in advance.

joema2

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2013