Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pekk1s

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2020
Hi there,

I was about to buy 2018 mac mini with i7 and 32gb ram but now things got complicated. How do you guys think i7 compares to new M1? Or vice versa ? In Apple sites they compare i3 to M1 and M1 is 3x faster than i3? So I can't tell how much better or worse this new chip is ?

I'm total noob with these and I just need computer that can handle light video editing and recording with Logic. Is this new mini with M1 and 16gb ram enough for this kind of use?

Greetings Pekka

Ps. Also not fan of "new" color

ADGrant

macrumors 68000
Mar 26, 2018
With the M1 Mini you are limited to 16GB of RAM which is not enough for my taste. OTOH you do get a proper GPU.

Reactions: markiv810

dahlblom

macrumors regular
Sep 26, 2013
With the M1 Mini you are limited to 16GB of RAM which is not enough for my taste. OTOH you do get a proper GPU.
My early view on this would be that the upcoming M1 chips are not heavily dependent on RAM due to optimization. How that is reflected in benchmarks etc. remains to be seen. Nevertheless, interesting route in the future, I hate upgrading RAM that costs ridiculous amounts of money from Apple.

Superhai

macrumors 6502a
Apr 21, 2010
I'm total noob with these and I just need computer that can handle light video editing and recording with Logic. Is this new mini with M1 and 16gb ram enough for this kind of use?
For video, the old Mac mini has only the intel UHD 630, and sure you can do very basic video editing, I am sure the newer one will be remarkably better, even if only half of what apple claims it can do is true.

Anyway, it is worth waiting for review and actual figures from real world users, because there are a lot of unknowns right now.

mdwsta4

macrumors 65816
Jul 23, 2007