Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ajcfreak

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 15, 2008
India
Hi,

The TL;DR version: I work as a part-time IT Coordinator in a school, and I do some freelance work otherwise (all in web development in WordPress and related things). I need to get a new notebook computer and am unable to decide between the newer processor + 3rd gen butterfly keyboard in the new Retina MacBook Air, versus the slightly faster processor and MUCH better graphics processor on the entry-level 13" MacBook Pro (without Touchbar).

Please help!

Now, here's some background and further details:

We've had a Mac at home since 2011, and I'm quite comfortable with it. I've used the 2010 11" MBA, then moved onto a 2014 13" MBA (all at home), and have been using a 2018 13" MBA (with the 1.8 Ghz processor) since August 2017.

I've recently completed my assignment with the organisation that had provided me with the 2018 13" MBA, and am now left without a computer of my own (the older 2014 MBA is with the Wifey and can't get that back).

Considering how expensive the new rMBA and the MBPs are, I would love to go out and buy the older MBA, but it seems stupid to buy something that has a processor from 2015 in 2019. I'd like my computers to last at least five years, if not more.

In the past few months, I've tried using a pretty high-end Windows tablet from Dell (with an attached keyboard) - and Windows was just infuriating. I've then moved onto a couple of Chromebooks - which seem to get the job done mostly - except for my freelance work. Wordpress, with all plugins loaded for some of the websites I work on, just takes upto 3 minutes to do tasks that used to complete near-instantaneously on my MBA.