Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jimmy Mac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 25, 2010
I dropped £2.5k on a top tier iMac 27” that has the fastest i5 chip, but immediately started the obligatory panicking that it wouldn’t be powerful enough for my needs.

I’m a professional Graphic/Web Designer and both laptops I currently have are i7’s, but conventional wisdom suggests this is overkill for my needs - I work mostly in Sketch, Illustrator in Photoshop.

I do work with some video in After Effects and would like to learn it deeper (mostly for animation). I would also like to learn C4D, but both of these will constitute a smaller portion of what I do. Oh and I will also use it for hobbyist music production.

So what do you think? Is the current 6-core i5 going to be solid, or do you think the i9 is worth an extra 300 quid (*cry*).

Also, if I do decide I want to upgrade, what’s the process? Do I need to make sure it’s not opened and return it?

Thanks in advance for your opinions!

snyp1193

macrumors regular
Nov 2, 2019
Canada
I dropped £2.5k on a top tier iMac 27” that has the fastest i5 chip, but immediately started the obligatory panicking that it wouldn’t be powerful enough for my needs.

I’m a professional Graphic/Web Designer and both laptops I currently have are i7’s, but conventional wisdom suggests this is overkill for my needs - I work mostly in Sketch, Illustrator in Photoshop.

I do work with some video in After Effects and would like to learn it deeper (mostly for animation). I would also like to learn C4D, but both of these will constitute a smaller portion of what I do. Oh and I will also use it for hobbyist music production.

So what do you think? Is the current 6-core i5 going to be solid, or do you think the i9 is worth an extra 300 quid (*cry*).

Also, if I do decide I want to upgrade, what’s the process? Do I need to make sure it’s not opened and return it?