Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chrism139

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2020
Hi,
I am new to the MBP community and just bought an open box 16" i7 16gb memory MBP 2019 (later model) from Best Buy and I'm experiencing the thermal throttling/overheating when connecting it to an external monitor (basic Acer monitor nothing fancy). Does anyone know if Apple fixed this problem in the new 2020 Macbook Pro?

Thinking about returning this open box 16" MBP for the new 2020 13" with the magic keyboard and hopefully a cooler running system. I'm fine having the smaller screen, just want something reliable and easy to use for photo/video editing. Thoughts?

I would also save $200 since I paid $2K for this 16" and the new 13" is $1,800 with the i5 10th gen processor, 16gb ram and the 512 storage.

harrisonjr98

macrumors 6502
Dec 15, 2019
Well, the thermal issues with external displays on the 16” are due to the dGPU so I imagine the 13” is not affected. You are certainly leaving some horsepower on the table by trading models though, so it’s your call. Personally I returned my 16” and am waiting on the new 13” to go on a big sale or an iMac redesign. (Or a Mac mini with better thermals and a dGPU! I can dream.)

MrGimper

macrumors G3
Sep 22, 2012
Andover, UK
It's important to point out that the 16" neither thermal throttles or overheats when connected to an external monitor. It uses more power and gets hotter and the fans spin more, that's it. The CPU performs as it should and the fans cool the machine as they should. The issue is around the GPU pulling much more power when using an external monitor and the laptop screen at the same time.

Chrism139

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2020