Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TandemStudios

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2018
I am looking to upgrade my 2011 21.5" iMac and have more or less decided on a Mini. The question is, which one? I'm a print designer, running InDesign primarily, with Photoshop and Illustrator as needed. I do little/no video work.

Here are the two options I'm looking at:

For $1499
  • 3.0GHz 6‑core 8th‑generation Intel Core i5 (Turbo Boost up to 4.1GHz)
  • 16GB 2666MHz DDR4
  • Intel UHD Graphics 630
  • 512GB SSD storage
For $1399
  • 3.6GHz quad‑core 8th‑generation Intel Core i3
  • 16GB 2666MHz DDR4
  • Intel UHD Graphics 630
  • 512GB SSD storage
I know enough to be dangerous, but am not tech-savvy enough to know which is the better option.

Also, looking for a recommendation on a 4K monitor that won't break the bank that would be appropriate for what I'm doing.

OR should I go for a 27" iMac since I still would need to find an appropriate monitor and at that point I'm in the same ballpark, price-wise? The only issue I see here is then I still need to drop even more $ to get the amount of RAM I feel I need.

archer75

macrumors 68040
Jan 26, 2005
Oregon
If it were me i'd get the i7. But of the two you listed the i5. I'd get the 8gb option and upgrade to 32gb yourself. Just with my background tasks running and me not touching my mini i'm using 16gb alone. With your work the more ram the better.

F-Train

macrumors 68020
Apr 22, 2015
NYC & Newfoundland
As someone who owns both a 27" iMac and a Mac mini, I think that there's a lot to be said for the simplicity and integrated monitor of an iMac.