Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elliskay83

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 2, 2024
As indicated in the title, my company has given me an absolute/hard capped budget of $4k to purchase a new Macbook Pro. (Public sector and tax exempt.) Absolutely no chance to increase even $1 above $4k. I'm a designer who also regularly works with high resolution photography and videography, so very large file sizes is the norm. Also, I have to admit I'm prone to having a good portion of the Creative Suite open at the same time. With these things in mind, which would you say is the better use of the full funds?

Option 1:
14" MBP, M3 Max, 14 Core, 96GB Ram ($3,999)

Option 2:
16" MBP, M3 Max, 16 Core, 48GB Ram ($3,999)

I'm not super worried about the portability and the extra screen size would be nice for situations where I'm not able to plug into into a monitor. I think my biggest struggle is deciding whether the extra RAM is worth the reduction in cores and screen size.

Have to place my order today! Which way would you go?

wilberforce

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2020
SF Bay Area
This is a tough one, because Adobe apps are serious memory hogs on Apple Silicon (the graphical acceleration feature in Adobe apps sucks up unified memory), and a 14" screen is tiny for apps like Photoshop - but arguably so is 16".

Are you currently working on Apple Silicon? If so, how is your memory pressure in Activity Monitor?

I would be inclined to try the 16" with 48GB, and return it in 14 days if memory usage is a problem

Last edited:

elliskay83

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 2, 2024
Tough one indeed. I should clarify on the portability statement. By that, I' meant I'm not that concerned with the size/weight difference between a 14" and 16" when it comes to portability. But this does need to be a MBP vs something like a Studio because it will be used outside of the office on a regular basis.