Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dman8950

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 21, 2005
Lafayette, IN
Hello, I am a 1st year grad student looking to upgrade my 500MHz g3 ibook (dual usb, circa summer 2001). I have a few questions, so here we go:

1) The age-old question: laptop vs. desktop. I think my old ibook can last me a little longer, but those pbs are attractive.

2) Is it worth buying a new laptop with updates looming in the future?

3) I am strongly considering a 20" iMac g5. Will this run virtual pc? Will it be too fast for me to ever want to use my ibook again?

4) Speaking of old ibooks, my battery recently died. It was my 2nd battery for this machine, and I'm not crazy about buying another one. Does anyone know where I can get a replacement battery that will last more than 11 months? I would imagine that battery life will be improved if I use the new iMac as my primary machine, but $100 is alot for a 4-year old machine.

5) What do you think is the best value? 12" ibook, 12" pb, or 20" iMac?

6) Campus has several computer labs, but I'd like to be able to stay in the apartment. The last printer I had was a free lexmark that came with the ibook. Ink cartridge dried up every summer over break. Is there a cost-effective way to print these days? Should I buy a cheap laser printer and manually refill the toner?

I think that's it for now, thanks everyone.

-Dan

mwpeters8182

macrumors 6502
Apr 16, 2003
Boston, MA
Hi, I'm a 2nd year grad student. What are you studying?

I would go for the desktop, and just continue to use the iBook when on campus. I've got my $1500 powerbook, and my $500 PC, and I find myself using the PC more when I'm @ home, and only use the PB when I'm on campus. It still gets a lot of use, but I probably could have gotten by with my old G3 iBook.