Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

carlosbutler

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 24, 2008

tl;dr​

One very hot top-spec MBP 16", no high-end iMac Pro/5k available, and Mac Studio is 💸💸. Will a Trash Can solve it?

At present...​

I am a software engineer, having used Apple's hardware since 2008 at university. iMac, for me, is still my favourite machine they make.

I've a top spec 16" MBP from the day it was released in late 2019, and it has served me well. Alas, I find it more and more irksome as a permanent desktop. Seldom do I take it out the house now (originally bought due to travelling to Asia for work).

I need a very high powered desktop, yet the Mac Studio pricing at £3,999 is quite beyond acceptable, thus I believe I am left with these options:
  • iMac Pro (second hand)
  • iMac 24"
  • Mac Pro 🗑 (second hand)
My question is, more so out of disbelief: are Geekbench results actually indicative of real-world, and could an M1 iMac 24" actually be so much faster than a Mac Pro 🗑?

And if so, iMac Pro vs iMac 24"?

N.B. I appreciate I've long been absent in posting, but would greatly appreciate comments from those who've used the above machines.

SpotOnT

macrumors 6502a
Dec 7, 2016
You don't mention what you need a high powered desktop for...so it is hard to make suggestions. Are you compiling code? Doing 3D Modeling? Web design?

My first thought is why do you think the M1 Max Mac Studio isn't enough for you? That would come in at more like £1,999 rather than £3,999, and should totally blow your 2019 MBP away, as well as have lot of I/O that one might expect of a proper desktop.

That would sort of be my first guess. Sell your 2019 and that might get you close enough to make the base Mac Studio affordable.