Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macbook for student w/ ocassional gaming

• Macbook 2016

Votes: 6 22.2%
  • Macbook Air

Votes: 3 11.1%
  • Baseline 13' Macbook Pro 2015

Votes: 8 29.6%
  • Baseline 13' Macbook Pro 2015 nTB

Votes: 10 37.0%

• Total voters

areskins

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 3, 2016
Hey guys I just wanna know your opinion on which macbook to buy. I'm currently a med student in asia and would use my macbook for internet browsing, paper works, once or twice a year video editing for school projects, and ocassional gaming during semester breaks (love dem tycoon/sim games). Money's kinda tight since med school isn't cheap at all. Which macbook should I choose? I can only purchase the baseline models though. Kinda leaning towards the 2015 13 inch retina macbook pro. Also, the next laptop I would get is probably 2020. This would be my very first macbook ever.

Macbook 2016: very compact but 12 inches is too small for me
Macbook Air: Perfect design and all but the screen resolution is a let down since I would read a lot of books and journal articles. They said that retina makes reading easier on the eyes?
13 inch Macbook Pro 2015: Can still perform as good as the 2016?
13 inch Macbook Pro 2016 NTB: The only reason why I would even consider this is to have the newest looking macbook and better gaming performance but I would not mind the 2015 graphics.

Is the 13' rMBP 2015 right for me? Thanks in advanced guys. I also read some of the previous threads but most of them are considering upgraded older models but I can only get the baseline models.

Last edited:

snowman1

macrumors regular
Mar 17, 2010