Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MajereXYU

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 11, 2005
Hello!

(I'm what can be called a Power-User, so I'm not a computer newbie but I'm very unfamiliar with Adobe (design) applications, so please bear with me if some of my questions are somewhat obvious to some of you (I know many here work on Adobe creative apps on a daily basis)

Here goes:
My girlfriend studies design and graphics in college.

Her college uses Adobe Illustrator 7 (PC version).

At home, we are looking into buying Illustrator CS2.

--I was wondering if there was any way she could use CS2 (Mac) at home to do her homework and still be able to hand in her .ai file to the teacher and the teacher being able to open the file in Adobe Illustrator 7 (PC).

The school won't provide an Illustrator 7 install disc (obviously) so my GF has to go to school even on weekends to do her homework.

So, is there any "compatibility mode" like there is in, say, MS Word that allows you to save a document in a way that makes it compatible with previous versions?

Thanks

aboutthat

macrumors regular
Jun 29, 2005
Washington, DC
Yeah, when you save it, it gives you the option of a bunch of legacy formats that you can use. Obviously, there'll be some differences in what can be included with each file, but as long as its not too complicated, things should work just fine. Your only problem is that, when saving in legacy, there's no Illustrator 7; 3, 8, 9, 10, CS yes, but that's about it.

Short answer: yes, with some limitations.

MajereXYU

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 11, 2005
thanks for a quick reply!

gonna try that.

Do you know if the mac version of Illustrator is multilanguage or if I have to buy a separate version to get french support? (GF doesn't speak english).

chaosbunny

macrumors 68020
No offense, but teaching 8 year old stuff doesn't really speak for the reputation of that college.